Voting in the 2021 federal election

The federal election is an exciting time for new Canadian citizens. Voting is an important part of our democracy and it is an opportunity for new Canadian citizens to take part in deciding who is elected to govern. Are you planning to vote?


Election day is Monday, September 20.  You can vote from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm.


There is one polling station in Whistler:

Whistler Conference Centre, 4010 Whistler Way

Who can vote

To be eligible to vote in a Canadian federal election, you must be a Canadian citizen and at least 18 years old on election day.

How to vote

The first step for new voters in Canada is to register to vote.

To check if you are registered, use the Online Voter Registration Service or call Elections Canada on 1-800-463-6868.

Pre-registration closed on September 14. If you registered in advance you should get a voter information card in the mail that you can bring with you on election day.

You can also register or update your voter information at the polling station before you vote on election day.

What to bring with you

To vote you will need to prove your identity and address. You have 3 options.

Option 1: Show your driver’s license OR any other card issued by a Canadian government (federal, provincial or local) with your photo, name and current address.

Option 2: Show 2 pieces of ID. Both must have your name and at lease one must have your current address. Examples include your voter information card and bank statement or a utility bill and student ID card.

Option 3: You can vote if you declare your identity and address in writing and have someone who knows you and who is assigned to your polling station vouch for you. This person must be able to prove their identity and address.

Get more information on accepted forms of identification on the Elections Canada website.

How does Canada’s electoral system work?

In Canada, you vote for one person to be the member of parliament (MP) for your electoral district. There are 338 electoral districts. Each one is led by an elected MP. Most times the party that gets the highest number of MPs elected to the House of Commons wins the election, and the leader of that party becomes prime minister.

List of candidates in our electoral district

Our electoral district is West Vancouver–Sunshine Coast–Sea to Sky Country

Candidate nameParty name
Doug BebbPeople’s Party of Canada
Terry GrimwoodIndependent
Gordon JeffreyParti Rhinocéros Party
Avi LewisNew Democratic Party
Chris MacGregorIndependent
Mike SimpsonGreen Party of Canada
Patrick WeilerLiberal Party of Canada
John WestonConservative Party of Canada

More information

Have more questions? Go to the Elections Canada website